Visual Studio Unit Test

Purpose & Scope

Provide basic information about Visual Studio Unit Test framework for Software Engineer to get started with it.

Introduction

Since at least Visual Studio 2012 the well known IDE from Microsoft does support its very own test framework.
Visual Studio Online also known as Visual Studio Team Services is capable of running your unit tests through that framework and provides reporting.
I have limited experience with Visual Studio test or other test frameworks. I usually find them over complicated.
In fact I find anything beyond checking an executable exit code, zero for passed, failed otherwise, over complicated.
It seems to me like all those test frameworks insist on having you pack your tests in some kind of DLL plug-in for the framework to load and run.
I guess such systems scale possibly better than plain old executable but that won't even start to be an issue until you have hundreds of unit tests to run.
Even then nothing is preventing you to pack as many tests you want in a single executable and you can still get really good reporting by using good old console output.
So in keeping with the KISS principle I set on a quest to find a way to run test executables through Visual Studio Team Services VsTest task.

Tools

At the core of Visual Studio Testing Tools is the command line executable vstest.console.exe.
Through so called Test Adapters VsTest can theoritically run unit tests from any framework.
By default I could not get it to load my executables, be it locally or on the Visual Studio Online hosted build agent.
I'm assuming it was expecting some kind of DLL implementing Microsoft own test framework. As mentioned above I just wanted to use plain executables rather than adding dependency on some unit test framework. So I set on implementing my own Test Adapter capable of running my executable unit tests.

Test Adapter